OAF News

2014 Winner of the Tims Sims Encouragement Award Announced

Toronto, October 28, 2014 - 22-year-old Caitlin Langelier was awarded the 2014 Tim Sims Encouragement Award at the Cream of Comedy held Monday at The Second City. The 19th annual Cream of Comedy competition honours a promising up-and-coming comedy act with an award of recognition, a cash prize of $5,000 and a scholarship for a class at the Second City Training Center.

2014 Winner of the Tim Sims Encouragement Award, Caitlin Langelier

Cream of Comedy 2014 was hosted by the hilarious Jeff McEnery (Just for Laughs, Comedy Now) who won the Tim Sims Award in 2005.

The same jury of comedy professionals who selected this year’s five talented nominees Sam Burns, Moist Theatre, Brendan Pinto, Jeremy Woodcock, and Caitlin Langelier chose the 2014 recipient of the Tim Sims Encouragement Award.

Not only was the Jury won over by her easy onstage presence and unpredictable comedic perspective Caitlin Langelier also received rounds of audience applause for her polished act.

TSEF Founder and Director Lindsay Leese presented the award which is administered by the Ontario Arts Foundation, and created in memory of Tim Sims, comedy performer, writer and director who was as well known for his brilliant wit, as for his dedication to supporting new talent and fundraising for charitable causes.

“The Tim Sims Encouragement Fund and Award has grown into one of the most prestigious honours an up and coming comedic performer or troupe can receive. It's been thrilling to see the nominees and winners from the last 19 years go on to achieve such success in Canada's entertainment industry, and know that the TSEF played a big part in launching their careers.

Now that our baby is 19 years old, it’s time for the Tim Sims Award to move out of the house. I’m pleased to announce that as of next year 2015, the Tim Sims Award will transition to a new model of recognizing outstanding up and coming comedic talent and continue being awarded by two new homes. Toronto’s foremost training institutions the Humber School of Comedy and The Second City Training Center will be the new custodians of the award, recognizing two qualifying recipients a year selected from their graduating student body by faculty.” - Lindsay Leese

Next year’s 20th Anniversary Cream of Comedy will celebrate previous winners and nominees including: Nathan Fielder (This Hour has 22 Minutes, CBC), Mark DeBonis (of the 2011 $25,000 Great Canadian Laugh-Off ) Jeff McEnery (also winner of the $25,000 Great Canadian Laugh-Off), Gavin Crawford, (This Hour has 22 Minutes, CBC, The Gavin Crawford Show, TCN) Aurora Browne (Comedy Inc. CTV), Craig Lauzon and Jessica Holmes, (Air Farce, CBC) Laurie Elliot, (Popcultured, Comedy Now, TCN ) Debra DiGiovanni, (Last Comic Standing , NBC) Fraser Young, (Comedy Now, TCN) and Levi MacDougall (Popcultured, Comedy Now, TCN).

- 30 –

List of Previous Tim Sims Award Winners

For more information, please contact:

Daniel Shehori
Media Contact
Tel: (647) 213-5151


Alan Walker
Executive Director, Ontario Arts Foundation
Tel: (416) 969-7413


BLOG: Light at the end of the tunnel... Read more »