OAF News

Nominations for third annual Gina Wilkinson Prize now being accepted

Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON (October 15, 2013) - Nominations for the Gina Wilkinson Prize, named in memory of Canadian actor, playwright and director Gina Wilkinson, are now being accepted. The annual prize is intended to recognize and assist female theatre artists attempting to transition from one theatre discipline into the discipline of theatre direction. The award recipient will be chosen from nominations brought forward by members of the Canadian theatre community. This year’s nomination deadline is December 15th, 2013; the recipient will be announced on March 10, 2014.


Gina Wilkinson 


Shortly after Gina Wilkinson died in December 2010, a fund was established to benefit emerging female theatre directors. The Gina Wilkinson Prize was made possible by the generous support of over 200 people from all across Canada. In the spirit of Ms. Wilkinson’s generosity and appetite for life and as a tribute to her unyielding dedication, vision and indomitable spirit that imbued her work and her life, the prize is a gift to be used in any way that the recipient chooses.

Past recipients of the Gina Wilkinson Prize include: Ann-Marie Kerr of Halifax (2012) and Krista Jackson of Winnipeg (2013).

An actor for over twenty years, Ms. Wilkinson began turning her attention to both writing and directing and, in the last few years of her too short life, established herself as a daring, strong, inventive and important director and collaborator in the Canadian theatre community.

Award Details:

Nominees must be members of the Canadian professional theatre community and Canadian citizens or have permanent resident status, as defined by Citizenship and Immigration Canada.
Preference will be shown to nominees who have spent several years in a theatre discipline other than directing (acting, stage management, design, theatre administration, etc.) and who are now attempting to transition into directing.

The Prize:
A prize of $2,000.00 will go to the winning nominee.  The recipient will be announced on March 10, 2014.

The Process:
The nomination should consist of:
1. A nomination letter in support of the nominee by a recognized theatre professional.
2. An acknowledgement of the nomination by the nominee.
3. The nominee’s resume.

Anyone wishing to re-nominate their past nominee is encouraged to do so.

All nominations must be submitted electronically to the following email address: ginasprize@gmail.com.

Nomination deadline: December 15th, 2013. The recipient will be announced on March 10, 2014.

The nomination will be reviewed by the Gina Wilkinson Prize Jury: Micheline Chevrier, Bonnie Green, Eda Holmes, Jackie Maxwell, Tom Rooney and Bob White.

The Gina Wilkinson Prize Fund is administered by the Ontario Arts Foundation. Anyone wishing to donate to the fund may do so by visiting the Ontario Arts Foundation website here:  Ontario Arts Foundation - Gina Wilkinson Fund.


For more information, members of the media may contact:

Odette Yazbeck
Public Relations Director
Shaw Festival
T 1-800-657-1106 ext. 2222 

Tom Rooney
T 519-305-0082 

Alan Walker
Executive Director
Ontario Arts Foundation
T. 416-969-7413


Ce document existe également en français.

BLOG: Light at the end of the tunnel... Read more »