OAF News

K. M. Hunter Artist Award Winners Announced

Toronto, May 11, 2010 - The K. M. Hunter Charitable Foundation recognized the seven recipients of the 2010 K. M. Hunter Artist Awards at an event last evening at the Gladstone Hotel.

A prize of $8,000 was awarded in each of six artistic disciplines to:

Kathleen Rea              Dance(co-winner of $4,000)
Bageshree Vaze        Dance(co-winner of $4,000)
Roberto Santaguida  Film and Video
Steven Heighton         Literature
Brian Current              Music
d'bi.young                    Theatre
David C. Hannan         Visual Arts

These annual awards are given to Ontario residents who have completed their training, begun to produce a body of work and are starting to make a significant mark in their field. Given at a critical moment in the artists' careers, the awards are a means of encouraging their craft and propelling them to the next level.

Since the awards were created in 1995, 90 artists have received awards totaling over $550,000.

ìThe K. M. Hunter Artist Award was inspired by an award I received in my early thirties that helped me realize I should take myself seriously as an artist and continue extending and developing my craft,î says Martin Hunter.

The OAC Awards Office administers the nomination process for the K. M. Hunter Artist Awards. OAC juries nominate candidates from a selection of English language OAC project-based granting programs. The K. M. Hunter Charitable Foundation convenes six juries to select the winners of the awards. The awards are financed by a gift from the K. M. Hunter Charitable Foundation to the Ontario Arts Foundation.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Janet Stubbs
Executive Director, Ontario Arts Foundation
(416) 969-7413

Ce document existe également en franÁais.

BLOG: Light at the end of the tunnel... Read more »