OAF News

Nominations for annual Gina Wilkinson Prize now being accepted

Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON, October 21, 2015 — Nominations for the fifth annual Gina Wilkinson Prize are now being accepted. Established in memory of Gina Wilkisnon, the annual prize pays tribute to Gina and her unyielding dedication, vision and indomitable spirit the imbued her work and her life.  An actor for over twenty years, Gina transitioned to directing and this prize recognizes an experienced female theatre artist making a similar shift from one theatre discipline to directing.  This year's nomination deadline is December 15, 2015 with the $5,000 prize awarded on March 10, 2016


In the last few years of her too-short life, Gina established herself as a daring, strong, inventive and important director, writer and collaborator in the Canadian theatre community.  Shortly after she passed away in December 2010, the Gina Wilkinson Prize was established due to the generous support it received from across Canada.  Additionally, a substantial gift was made to the fund in 2014 by the beneficiaries of the Estate of Elsie V. Adamson, a long-time friend and client of Martin Wilkinson, Gina's brother.  In the spirit of Gina's generousity and appetitite for life, the prize is a gift to be used in any way the recipient chooses. 

Previous winners of the Gina Wilkinson Prize include: Ann-Marie Kerr of Halifax (2012), Krista Jackson of Winnipeg (2013) Christine Brubaker of Toronto (2014), and Valerie Planche of Calgary (2015).

The Gina Wilkinson Prize Fund is administered by the Ontario Arts Foundation. Anyone wishing to donate to the fund may do so here.

Award and Nomination Process


For more information:

Tom Rooney

Alan Walker, Executive Director
Ontario Arts Foundation 
416-969-7413 | awalker@arts.on.ca


BLOG: Light at the end of the tunnel... Read more »